Sri Chinmoy 100 km & 50 km Race

Hagley Park North Christchurch

2019 Athletics New Zealand 100 km Road Championships

About the event

The 100 km Race is an IAU Bronze Label event and incorporates the Athletics New Zealand National 100 km Championships.

To be considered for Athletics New Zealand Championship titles, athletes must be registered through an affiliated athletics club in New Zealand.


100 km Individual, 100 km Teams & 50 km Individual Races
View course map »

Start time

  • 7.00 am


Vajin Armstrong (race director)
027 303 9978
Send Email
Emily Oliver (race admin)
021 069 3732
Send Email


  • IAU Bronze Label Event
  • IAAF/ AIMS Certified Course
  • Athletics NZ National Championship


Location: Hagley Park North

  • All events are run on a IAAF/ AIMS certified 2.5 km asphalt loop.
  • Lap counters for every runner
  • Hourly scoreboard updates
  • Nutritious snacks and drinks available throughout the race
  • Delicious post-race meal

Event Options:

  • 100 km Individuals
  • 100 km teams
  • 50 km Individuals

Teams Information:

  • Teams will be made up of four people, each completing 25 km.
  • The team category is open and includes teams of all ages and genders.
  • One runner on the course at a time.
  • Runners may make up their distance in one or more shifts, but each runner must be on the course for a minimum of one hour before changing over.


  • 06:15 - Registration opens to collect race numbers
  • 06:45 - Race Briefing
  • 07:00 - Start: 100 km, 100 km Teams and 50 km races.
  • 19:00 - All races cut off
  • 19:00 - Prizegiving
  • 19:30 - Post-race dinner

Post-race dinner

  • The post-race dinner provided by The Lotus-Heart Restaurant (link is external) will be held in the event village at 7:30pm. The meal is complimentary for all participants.
  • Family, friends and supporters are welcome to join for dinner and dessert for $15. RSVP required by 10 am on race day.


Event Under 20 Adult (20 to 64) Senior (65 +)
50 km (18 years+) $90 $100 $90
100 km (18 years+) $140 $150 $140
100km Teams* (17 years+) $190 $200 $190

*team entries must be four people and may be same-gender or mixed.

Entry Cut-off

  • Online entries close at midnight on Wednesday 1st May 2019 
  • Please note that on-the-day entries are not accepted due to the preparation required for this event.

Award Categories

  • All races are open.
  • Sri Chinmoy Marathon Team trophies are awarded to first three male and female runners in individual events. 
  • Athletics New Zealand medals will be awarded to the first three ANZ affiliated male and female runners in each event.
  • All participants receive a finisher's medal and personalised certificate.

Results and Photos

  • Results, photos and a race report will be posted online after the event.


Sri Chinmoy 100 km race

  • Men's 100 km record: 7:08:37 - Martin Lukes, 2012
  • Women's 100 km record: 8:34:03 - Katrin Gottschalk, 2017

Sri Chinmoy 50 km race

  • Men's 50 km record: 3:28:44 - Jaron Tabak, 2007 [Martin Lukes ran 50 km in 3:24:59 during 2012 100 km Race]
  • Women's 50 km record:  3:36:38 - Hannah Oldroyd, 2017

Sri Chinmoy 100 km teams race

  • 100 km Teams record: 6:46:49 - "Been Leaving Your Marks Behind" (Papanui TOC H Athletic Club), 2018


  • The international Sri Chinmoy Marathon Team is a non-profit organisation conducted by the Sri Chinmoy Centre.
  • Our races are held as a service to the running community to promote self-transcendence through sports.
  • A competitor at any Sri Chinmoy Race across the globe can be assured of the same high standard and quality of care.

Previous Results

  • 2018 May 6th
    Sri Chinmoy Ultramarathon and Athletics New Zealand 100km National Championships - Results

    In asborbing races Larissa Tichon, 9.14.08 (Sydney Striders, AUS), and Wayne Botha, 9.15.11 (Takapuna Harriers, Auckland) won the 13th Annual Sri Chinmoy 100 km Races (Athletics New Zealand 100 km National Championships) held in North Hagley Park, Christchurch on Sunday.

    The 2018 road champs started in cool, crisp conditions (8C), which gave way to a warm, blue-skied (21C) mid-Autunm's day

    Larissa, overcoming a late race mini-slump, came home powerfully to finish ahead of 2018 men's champ Wayne and first Kiwi woman, Shannon-Leigh Litt, 9.38.21 (New Brighton Olympic and Athletic, Christchurch), who became the 2018 Athletic New Zealand 100 km women's champion.

    Dual former winner, Dawn Tuffery, (Hamilton City Hawkes, Hamilton) completing 42.5 kms before stopping with a strained achilles. 

    Men's runner-up David O'Sullivan, 9.37.57 (Aspiring Athletics, Wanaka) ran a steady, purposeful race. Latter, as conditions improved, David picked up the pace ... overtaking women's runner-up, Shannon-Leigh Litt, in the run to the finish line.

    Jamie Hawker, 10.32.50 (Port Hill Athletic, Christchurch) was third placed man ... followed by his Port Hill Athletic team mate  Paul Botha, 11.07.22.

    In the Sri Chinmoy 100 km Team's Race 4-man team 'Been Leaving Your Marks Behind', 6.46.49 (Papanui TOC H Athletic Club) established a new race record ... clipping just 64 seconds off the solid, previous mark set in 2012 by the "Marathon Clinic 1" team.

    The second placed team was 3-time defending champions 'Weekend Warriors', 7.24.38 (Christchurch), followed by Team Vegan', 8.57.44 (Christchurch) and the 'Hot Potatoes Team', 9.45.04 (Christchurch).

    The Sri Chinmoy 50 km Race was won by Geoff Gilfedder, 4.02.30 (Chistchurch), who held off a last lap challenge from runner-up Ryan Wood, 4.03.26 (Christchurch). In third place was Samuel Brown, 4.22.18 (Christchurch).

    The 7.00 pm awards ceremony was followed by a post-race meal under tranquil Hagley-Park evening skies.